What is TLD? Top Level Domain

TLD comes from the English Top Level Domain which means Top Level Domains. A top level domain or TLD is the most generic part of a domain name, they refer to the last segment of a domain name, or the part that immediately follows the “dot” symbol.

TLDs are mainly classified into two categories:

  1. Global Top Level Domains (GTLD)
  2. Country Code Top Level Domains (CCTDL)

Global Top Level Domains (gTLDs)

They are top level domains that are not related to a specific country. There are dozens of gTLDs for various purposes. Some are restricted and some are not. Examples are:

.biz Business Organization Sites

.com Business Sites

.info TLD Top Level Domain Free Opening Sites

.int International Organization Sites

.name Personal Sites

.net System and Network Sites

.org Organization Sites

There are restricted TLDs that require meeting certain guidelines in order to obtain that type of domain. These guidelines vary depending on the TLD applied for. Some examples of restricted TLDs are:

.edu Educational Sites

.gov – for US government sites.

.mil – for US military installations

.asia – for sites in Asia

Country Code Top Level Domains (ccTLDs)

They are top-level domains that relate to a specific country. They are identified because they are made up of two letters long. This type of TLD indicates the products or services available in that country. Some examples of ccTLDs are:

.au – Australia

.br –Brazil

.co – Colombia

.from Germany

.ec – Ecuador

.fr – France

.mx – Mexico

.uk – United Kingdom

.us – United States

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Back to top button